Home » Featured Music, Headline, Multimedia, Playlists, Weekly Event

Tuesday Boozeday Album Reviews Day: Com Truise & Emancipator

BY Sarah 21 June 2011 No Comments

Com Truise – Galactic Melt

My first listen of Com Truises’ new album Galactic Melt felt like taking a running jump into a pool full of rich and deep textures, swirling around my body in a synthetic bob. Every song on this album is so extravagantly laced with synth sounds so brooding yet so fetching that you’ll almost feel guilty for loving it so much.

Com Truise set the Internet ablaze last year with his admittedly intriguing EP Cyanide Sisters, a collection of bass-heavy dance tunes that were strikingly mature in nature. The sound was diverse, ranging from danceable to outright intimidating. So to little surprise, New York synth-meister Seth Haley has created something pretty spectacular in his newest effort.

Galactic Melt is truly a harmonious journey through post-apocalyptic 1985. The first track on the album, “Terminal,” sucks you right into its retrospective black hole and has no intention of letting you escape until the final track, “Korova,” releases your subconscious back into the present day with a rich arrangement of keys.

Other songs, like my favorite “Brokendate”, dabble in mind warping 80’s funk pitted with a penchant for pop structuring—yet Haley’s rouse is to make it all sound as organic as possible.

And he succeeds. The album is effortlessly listenable in addition to being something that breeds introspection. The three years it took Com Truise to create the LP have paid off, leaving anyone with an appreciation for synth-pop with an overwhelming amount of satisfaction.

The album officially drops July 5th on Ghostly International, but you can stream the album below!


With his aptitude in formulating symphonic sounds balanced by an intricate and clean production style, Emancipator, aka Doug Appling, won my heart long before the release of Remixes. But now that he has some of the most stellar artists in the electronic game to remix some of his finer tracks, I’m really beside myself.

Appling sets himself apart as an electro-musician in that he stays away from sampling, opting instead to create original pieces. Now, his unique style has been transformed by artists like Ooah, Big Gigantic, Michael Menert, D.V.S*, Blockhead, and Emancipator himself to create probably the best remix album of the year.

“First Snow (Ooah Remix)”, a seven minute soundscape, showcases Emancipator’s propensity for layering sounds with such depth it leaves you in a sort of cryptic trance. We shouldn’t be surprised though, as he has a solid history of incorporating organic sounds with electronic elements in a seamless manner.

Another favorite on the album, “Jet Stream (D.V.S* Remix)”, incorporates the lush, textured resonance of the original song, but with a playfulness that can only be recognized as the work of Derek VanScoten of D.V.S*. Add in a near calypso drum pattern and you’ve got the shining star of the album.

Remixes takes us on a ride, kind of like sitting shotgun on a long winding mountain road, every sudden turn taking us to a new place. The amount of work that went into this album is amazing and unforgettable.

Stream the album in its entirety below!

Spread the Word:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.